ISEST 2017 WORKSHOP FIRST ANNOUNCEMENT



The International Study of Earth-Affecting Solar Transients (ISEST) Workshop is aimed at bringing together scientists from different countries to interact and establish collaborative links that can effectively address the physical mechanisms regarding the origin, propagation, and Earth impact of coronal mass ejections (CMEs) and other transient events. The ISEST 2017 Workshop is the latest of a series of workshops organized by the ISEST project, which is one of the four projects of SCOSTEP's VarSITI program (2014-2018). The ultimate goal of the ISEST project is to develop the capability to predict the arrival and geoeffectiveness and other space-weather consequences of solar transients. The ISEST project, involving a truly global network of scientists, consists of seven active working groups: (1) data, (2) theory, (3) simulation, (4) event campaign, (5) Bs challenge, (6) Solar Energetic Particles, and (7) MiniMax campaign. The project provides a standing website for hosting events catalogs, data and presentations and offers a forum for discussion available at http://solar.gmu.edu/heliophysics/index.php/.

If you are interested in attending the ISEST 2017 Workshop, please register by June 30, 2017. Registration and other information of the workshop can be found at http://kswrc.kasi.re.kr/Workshop/isest2017. A limited among of fund is available for supporting young scholars. Please send an email along with your CV and tentative abstract to Kyungsuk Cho (kscho@kasi.re.kr) before June 15, 2017 for the financial support. Note that the ISEST 2017 Workshop shares the same time and venue with the 3rd COSPAR Symposium on Small Satellites for Space Research, but runs as an independent program.

SOC Jie Zhang (Co-Chair, USA), Kyungsuk Cho (Co-Chair, South Korea), Nat Gopalswamy (Co-Chair, USA), Manuela Temmer (Co-Chair, Austria), Ayumi Asai (Japan), Mario Bisi (UK), Peter Gallagher (Ireland), Manolis Georgoulis (Greece), Alejandro Lara (Mexico), Noé Lugaz (USA), Alexis Rouillard (France), Nandita Srivastava (India), Bojan Vršnak (Croatia), Yu-Ming Wang (China), David Webb (USA) and Yuri Yermolaev (Russia)

LOC Kyungsuk Cho (Chair, KASI), Sujin Kim (KASI), Eunkyung Lim (KASI), Roksoon Kim (KASI), Ji-Hye Baek (KASI), Young-Jae Moon (KHU)